Endoscopy is over with!

On Friday, I had my presurgery endoscopy.

I had to fast starting at midnight and check into the hospital at 12:30.

I thought the fasting was really going to suck, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought.  I was really dry, but I didn’t feel that hungry at least.

When I got there, they took me pretty quickly to the holding area, inventoried all of my belongings and then got me into a hospital gown.  I work at the hospital and worked that morning to distract myself from the fasting so I had a lot more stuff with me than if I just checked in that morning.  Leave as much as you can at home (jewelry, credit cards, phone, etc.).

The nurse doing the IV did a really good job, but she did have to stick me twice.  She couldn’t get my hand quite right.  I hate getting IVs and even though she gave me a little novocaine, getting the IV in the hand was toe curling painful.  The second stick I didn’t even feel.  I think my hand is just super sensitive.

Then it was just a lot of waiting around until about 15 minutes before my procedure when it’s time to get consents signed.

Once in the OR, I had to gargle litocaine (sp?).  That was pretty disgusting, but my throat numbed up nicely.  They had me lie on my side.  They put a guard in my mouth so I wouldn’t chew the scope and then the next thing I knew, I was being wheeled into recovery.

Propofol is great.  The anesthesiologist said it might sting going in, but I never felt it.  Plus it didn’t made me nauseous, which happens to me a lot under anesthesia.

Dr. B let me know that everything went fine and asked me if I remembered anything.  I guess I tried to fight him off, but as he put it, he won.

I did have a polyp that he is biopsying, but he said it didn’t look like anything to worry about.  My stomach and esophagus are mildly inflamed so now I’m on prilosec daily.

I’m just glad to have it overwith and ready to continue on.

I can’t believe I’m having surgery two weeks from today.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

