Will I have to retrain my family?

My family has always been my biggest support and quite the obstacle when it comes to my weight loss.

Ever since I was 10 and I had a couple of pounds to lose, my mother has done everything in her power to try to help me.  A lot of what she did backfired, but she was listening to my doctor and everything she did was out of love and wanting to support me.

It took me a long time to get to the point where I could tell my mother how to support me properly.  She always had good intentions, but would say stuff like, "What can you eat?" or "Let’s order from someplace where Nancy can eat."  She thought that she had to be the food police to get me to lose weight and even some of my aunts would do it as well.  My father food policed me too, just not as much.

I finally got her to learn that I’m an adult and to let me make my own decisions on what I eat.  Being the food police doesn’t work for me.  I just rebel against it.  It has to be my choice.

Now that I’m having surgery, I wonder if I’m going to have to retrain my family.  Are we going to be going back to "Can you eat that?" and "What can you eat?".

At least I’m now at the point of my life where I can have honest conversations with my family about my weight and how best to support me.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

