Today, I became a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality (CPHQ)

For the last couple of months, I have been working on taking the CPHQ exam.

It has been one of my goals on my performance reviews to investigate and study for the exam.

I have been freaking out about it for a long time. 

In high school and college, I did not have good study skills.  I was that person that could attend class and get by, usually with an A or a B with an occasional C.  If I only applied myself, I could have easily had straight A’s.

Since getting my Bachelors degree, this is the first time that I have taken an exam that relates directly to my job.

A bunch of people in my department are currently studying for and taking this exam.  I know of two who have recently passed and two who recently did not pass. 

The last couple of weeks, I have studied my ass off, but last night I still did not feel prepared.  I took a couple of practice tests last night and did just "ok" on them.  I had definitely improved my scores on the practice tests, but I still did not feel "ready".

During the exam this morning, my heart would not stop pounding.  I used to be that person who was always the first person done with tests.  I had to work to slow down.  There were three computer spots to take the exam and I was the only one there to take this exam, so I had no one to compare to.

The exam has 140 questions with 15 throw away.  You have 3 hours to take the exam.   You can bookmark/skip questions to come back to later.  There is a button to go to the next/previous question and a button to only go to the bookmarked questions.

In the first hour, I went through all 140, and that was me trying to be slow.  We were allowed to go to the bathroom so I went just to take a break.

Then I went through all 140 again, bookmarking a couple of more to triple check.  That was another hour.  I went to the bathroom yet again to take another break.

Then I kept going through the bookmarked questions and checking until I felt I was able to take the bookmark off every question.

I was finally done.

Then they make you take a 15 question survey about the testing process/facility.  My heart was pounding harder and harder just trying to get through those questions.

When that was done, the screen just told me it was done and I had to go find someone to give me my printout.

She wasn’t allowed to look, just hand me the paper.

I couldn’t believe it when it said that I passed.  I needed 91 out of 125 questions and I got 100 right!

I’m so relieved, but I’m still so emotional.  I’m sure I’ll calm down eventually.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

