WLS Support Group Meeting Last Night

So I went to the monthly support group meeting last night.  They are no longer required for me as I have been to my 2, but I thought it was important to go anyway.

Some of the pros:

Meeting/talking to people who have had surgery already
Listening to other people’s questions and concerns, especially things that I might not have thought of
Learning more about the surgery and how people feel when they come home from the hospital and recover

I just get annoyed at how many people don’t seem to have done their research or just are there because they have to go to 2 meetings and just sit there looking annoyed/bored.

I also get a little bit annoyed by the people who seem to be coming up with reasons not to do this and just stay fat, not change, etc.

I guess I just don’t get how someone can go into this huge life decision without properly researching and figuring out how this is going to affect you.

What if I throw up in public?  What if I have loose/ugly/flabby skin?  What if I can’t drink beer? 

I would rather throw up in public, have loose skin and never sip another beer again and be able to fit into normal size clothes and be healthy than being the weight I am now.

I’ve been in therapy for a while now and I guess I have realized those things are just excuses to stay fat.  I should have more sympathy for people who are not there yet, but for some reason I don’t.  Maybe I’m just so tired and cranky.

Anyway, I’ll keep going to the meetings and hope that I find some more support especially once I’ve had surgery.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

