Sleep study. Take 2.

Last night I spent the night at the sleep lab so they can determine the settings that I need for the CPAP.

Last time I had so much trouble falling asleep.

So Monday night, I stayed up until midnight on purpose.  I was tired all day yesterday hoping being super tired would help.

I also brought my own pillow and my own blanket.  It’s not that the blankets at the sleep center were bad, I just like a thick, plushy blanket.

The tech was really nice and got me going right away.  It felt like there were less wires for this one.  At least I didn’t have two seperate ones up my nose.

She fit me with a nose mask for the CPAP and then it was time to try to sleep.

I felt tired, but I felt like I was having trouble breathing.  I ended up calling her to turn up the oxygen.

As soon as I fell asleep, she had to wake me up.  I learned that the second I fall alseep, my mouth pops open.  So she fit me with a chin strap hoping that I could keep the nose only mask.

Well when I finally fell back to sleep, my mouth popped open again.

So she switched me to a mask that covered my nose and mouth.  I acutally found it to be more comfortable.

I woke up several more times.  Mostly because if my head tipped to the side the mask started to leak and it woke me up.

One time she had to wake me up because I had removed my mask in my sleep.  I actually had been dreaming that it was morning and she asked me to remove the mask.  It was kind of funny.

Around 5 AM she woke me up since they had enough for the study.  I definitely felt better than last time, but I still went home and slept until 9:30.

I’m glad it’s over with.  I meet with pulmonary on 9/28.  Hopefully I’ll get my CPAP soon after as I need to be using it for a few weeks before my surgery date.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

