2nd Support Group Meeting Done

Last night was my second opportunity to go to one of the monthly support group meetings.

The program administrators try so hard to get people to talk.  A few of the people who have had surgery recently were willing to answer questions at least.

I ended up sitting towards the front so I could actually hear people and ended up sitting with a bunch of people who had gastric bypass within the last 6 months.  One had had the surgery 6 weeks ago!

It’s amazing how fast the gastric bypass people lose the weight.  I have to admit that it did sound  nice for a few minutes. 

There was only one lap band surgical person there and she talked about how she was a little hypersensitive to fills, but has been having no issue once she switched her exercise to the morning.

I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed that there aren’t more lap band people.

I was a little miffed that when the lap band person said she lost 40lbs in 6 months that people didn’t clap at first.  So what if it wasn’t the 80 that the bypass people were losing?  It’s still great.  I would be psyched to be 40lbs down.

It is going to be hard not to be envious of the bypass people’s weight loss.  It is faster.  However, I need to remember why I chose lap band over bypass in the first place.

It’s a less invasive surgery.

I don’t have to cut up my stomach.

I’ll still digest all of my food.

It’s reversible if there are major complications.

The topic of the meeting was vitamins.  Some guy there was arguing that he didn’t realize that bypass had the B12 requirement.

What is the big deal?  The real point of this surgery is to get HEALTHY!  If they want you to take vitamins, it’s for a good reason. 

I was talking with one of the program people that I know because we have done a project together here at the hospital.  She said they do the presentations because they have such trouble getting people to talk.  I have to admit that it doesn’t surprise me because it’s such a big group.

My two are done though, so I don’t have to go again if I really don’t want to.  I’ll probably go if the subject is interesting and after I’ve done my surgery.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

