Aqua Zumba rocks!

Exercise is one step in this process that I already got down pat.  I know what works for me and what keeps me going to the gym.

I recently switched to the Y from Healthworks only because Healthworks doesn’t have babysitting hours at night. 

I’m a class girl.

I’m glad that I learned early on that I don’t have to wait to be a certain weight in order to do classes.  I like the dance type classes like cardio dance and zumba.  I also like spinning, yoga, pilates, weight training classes, etc.  The only thing that I’m a bit afraid to do still is kickboxing just because it’s still too high intensity for me.  The other classes I can adjust to my level, but I’m not ready for kickboxing.

Since joining the Y, I’ve done a lot of aqua classes as well.  They have some of the hardest water aerobics classes I’ve ever taken (which is a good thing) and now they have aqua zumba.

Aqua zumba is a little weird at first, because you are dancing in the pool and that feels awkward.  You are about chest deep in water and you want to do all of the moves underwater including the arm movements to use the water resistance.

In someways the class is harder than a regular zumba class because of the water resistance.  However, the bouncy stuff is easier for me because of the water.  My heart rate gets too high when I try to do the bouncy stuff on land.

Tonight I’m planning on doing a 1/2 hour on the elliptical since my husband is away and I can’t make it to the 7:30 zumba class (the babysitting at the Y is great, but it doesn’t run that late).

I think people of my size are often afraid of exercise and afraid at the gym.  The fear of being mocked keeps them from going.

I have been going regularly to a gym for about 6 years now.  I have yet to be mocked at the gym.  People have noticed me, but you know what, I’ve noticed them!  When you become a regular, you get to know faces.  The only comments about my weight that I’ve gotten from people who notice me are compliments when I’m losing and how great I’m looking.

The most important thing about exercise is to find something that you enjoy so you will continue doing it.  If it’s a chore and you hate it, it’s so much harder to go.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

