Heart and Wellness Appointment

Today, I went to my heart and wellness appointment.

I first met with the nutritionist and we talked about my diet history and all sorts of stuff like that.

She looked at my labs and put me on iron, multivitamin, calcium, vitamin c, etc.

She also weighed me. I weighed in at 315.5, which I was actually happy with since I weighed in at 326 when I met with the surgeon about a month ago. Hopefully I can keep the number in the downward trend. I meet with my surgeon on the 27th and he said that he would like to see some progress. I definitely think 11lbs down would be progress. Maybe it will even be a little more. Not bad considering I was in the Bahamas a couple of weeks ago (which I came back with a maintain by the way).

Then I met with the cardiology assistant who discussed more of my medical history with me. VERY nice lady. Really loved her. It was like having a conversation with her. She said that I met the criteria for a stress test and a sleep test (something about neck measurements and BMI, plus the fact that I snore).

My blood pressure was a little high so she marked me as prehypertensive (136/80). It seems to go up and down depending on the day, but it’s usually not higher than that.

She paged the cardiologist, which is a Dr. I know from the Jewish community as well as from working here. He did a basic exam. Told me I have a slight benign heart mumur (love that I probably have had that all of my life and never been told). Everything looked good. Even when he looked at the blood pressure he felt it was probably nerves.

So now I can schedule the stress test as soon as possible, but I have to wait on insurance preapproval for the sleep study. Hopefully it won’t take too long, but the woman told me that BCBS likes to take their time.

I can’t believe I’m almost done with the preop process. It’s exciting and scary at the same time.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

