Protein Shakes, Take 1

As part of the pre-op process, the program suggests that you start trying protein drinks early.

It’s a really good idea. After all, the two weeks before and after surgery is liquid only. You want to make sure that you have something you like.

I had been on a no-artificial sweeteners/no high fructose corn syrup kick for a couple of years. A lot of the artificial sweeteners give me headaches or give me stomach aches.

Sucralose (splenda) does work the best with me and recently I have tried a few things with it in it. Aspartame is definitely out though.

The program recommends Carnation Instant Breakfast Sugar Free. I checked out their ingredients and it’s at least sucralose, but it seems to have a lot of other crap in it.

I went to whole foods yesterday and was excited to find one serving sample packs to buy of a bunch of the protein powder shakes they sell. That is a huge plus because then I’m not spending a ton of money of a can of powder that I might never use.

There was a very helpful girl in the section who described all of the different type of protein (whey, egg, soy, etc.).

The sample packets didn’t have much in the soy department, but I got two different brands of the whey protein and at least have a place to start.

So this morning, instead of skipping breakfast (which is a bad habit I have) or going to McDonalds/Starbucks/Bagel World/Dunkin Donuts (yet another bad habit), I made a protein shake.

This one is called Nature’s Way Metabolic Reset. I got a sample of strawberry and a sample of chocolate. I mixed the strawberry with some 1% milk (what we had in the house) and used my Blender Bottle (drink bottle with built in whisk that I also bought from whole foods).

The flavor is good. It’s a little powdery still so I think next time I will try my actual blender. After drinking it, I don’t feel hungry, but I don’t feel full.

It has a lot of vitamins in it and it’s completely all natural (uses stevia for sweetness).

The most important thing though is it’s 130 calories, .5g fat, 21g protein and 6g fiber.

Protein and fiber are going to be very important on this journey and I like that this one focuses on both.

So far, I would definitely buy this one. Can’t wait to try the chocolate.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

