First “support” group meeting and exercise

Part of the pre-op requirement for the WLS program is to go to at least 2 support group meetings. They are held on the 4th Monday of every month at 7:15 PM.

I did not know what to expect going into it. I saw on the schedule that they had a topic, but I didn’t realize it would be a formal presentation.

When I think of support groups, I usually think of small groups of people all taking turns talking about what is going on. This was a huge group. There were probably around 75 people in the room.

Nobody seemed to be really willing to share or talk about their experiences.

The presentation was on exercise and it’s importance. I feel like I’m ahead of the game on that topic.

I am really out of routine, but even when I’m eating like shit, I exercise. I want to get back into Spinning and Zumba and I’ve been doing a lot of Water Aerobics classes lately. I also want to get into swimming laps.

They want you to exercise every day according to the presentation. I don’t know how realistic that is.

Before I got pregnant, I consistantly exercised 5 – 6 times a week and I always needed a day off. I did pretty heavy exercise though of at least an hour each day though.

The program is recommended 30 – 60 minutes 5 – 7 times a week and preferably everyday.

Having a 2 year old and a full time job, it’s really hard for me to get exercise in.

It is something that I have been wanting to make more routine though. I joined the YMCA in Marblehead specifically because they have a pool and because they have babysitting. So hopefully I’ll make it more when Bowen travels.

I’m planning on signing up for Aqua Zumba classes. They have it on Fridays at 8AM and I’m thinking of doing it before work on Fridays. I’m going to miss the first class because I’m away, but at least I’m here for the rest.

I want to sign up for the pilates class too. I’ve had a hip problem since my csection and my physical therapist said working the core and doing pilates was one of the best things for it. I think the water aerobics has been doing wonders for it to as there is a lot of core strength training work in the deep end.

I am continuing on in the process and glad that I can check off one more thing on my list.

I was hoping that the support group meetings would be more helpful to me. Maybe it was just a bad night.

Next appointment is on August 17th with the psychologist.

At least between now and then I get a nice break from life by going to the Bahamas with one of my friends. I’m looking forward to just relaxing.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

