First Meeting with the Surgeon

On Friday, I met with my surgeon for the first time. I wanted to write about this on Friday when my mind was more fresh, but it ended up being a hectic, but good weekend.

I was extremely nervous going into the appointment. I didn’t know what he would say or what he would be like.

I gave myself a half hour to get to the appointment and I’m glad I did because I got there just on time. I wanted to get there early as I knew I had paperwork to fill out, but there was unexpected traffic. By the time I waited in line for the receptionist, filled out all of the required paperwork, got back in line and got down to the proper waiting room, I was nearly a half hour late. That just stresses me out more. Surgeons often run late for appointments since unexpected things can happen in a surgery throwing off their whole day. I didn’t need to add to that.

The first thing they did was weigh me and take my height measurements. 326 (sigh) and I measured at 5’4.5".

Then I got put in a room to meet with the surgeon.

There was a bed in there and I could tell the room is used for procedures and checkups. I started to think about my first fill and had a little freak out.

Dr. B came in. He seemed very relaxed.

One of the first things he said was that he reviewed my medical record and I’m very healthy except for my weight. That is something that I am very proud of.

He asked how I was feeling and I told him that I was scared.

I am scared of having surgery.

I am scared of needles.

I am scared of change.

I am scared of not being able to overeat whenever I want.

I am scared of having to restrict certain foods because they don’t go through the band.

The only thing that bothered me is something he would interupt and not let me finish talking. I know he was trying to comfort me, but let me finish a sentence.

Dr. B is a little on the arrogant/overconfident side in my opinion, but truthfully, you want that quality in your surgeon. You want someone who is very sure of him/herself.

We discussed banding vs. bypass. I can tell he is more of a fan of bypass but what he had to say, but I told him that I was not comfortable altering my body that way. I’m only currently comfortable with something that is reversable and that does not cut up my stomach.

He reminded me of a few things:

  • Banding is slower weight loss
  • Exercise is required with banding
  • Banding often requires a surgery down the road
  • Banding is sometimes converted to bypass in patients that do not have success with the band
  • On average, patients who have the band only lose 1/2 of their excess weight

Dr. B also asked me what my expectations are after 2 years. I said I would like to lose 100lbs. I also said that of course I would love to be "skinny", but my true goal is to be healthy. I don’t know if I’ll ever be "skinny".

It’s scary to think that I have 170lbs to lose. That is more than my goal weight. It makes me want to throw up, but for some reason doesn’t stop me from eating like shit.

He told me that he did think that banding is an option for me since I don’t have knee/hip problems or other health issues (diabeties, high blood pressure). It also helps that I already exercise.

I’m hoping to be more successful than the average. I don’t plan on just doing the lap band. My plan involves still doing weight watchers and still exercising.

My surgeon is also a member at the Marblehead Y and I told him that I recently switched to there because of their great babysitting options when Bowen is away.

He is supportive of doing the lap band instead of the bypass. He thinks it’s a viable option for me.

Next Steps: Meeting with a psychologist on 8/17 and meeting with Heart and Wellness on 8/18.

About nancykerins

I am a 38 year full time working mother of one doing my best to get healthy. I had lapband surgery in November of 2010 and then had a revision to the vertical gastric sleeve in February 2012. The purpose of this blog is a therapeutic tool for me to work out my feelings and write about what is going on during this experience. If I can help others through this blog, that is just a bonus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

